Published on April 4th, 2019 | by Nicole Vear

34th Annual Stellar Awards Delivers a Star Studded Weekend

Central City Productions  wrapped up the taping of the 34th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards on Friday, March 29 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, NV. The biggest night in gospel music, hosted by Kirk Franklin, will premiere on BET Network on Easter Sunday, April 21 at 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT. 

The stand-out highlight of the evening was an emotional tribute performance by Kelly Price, Erica Campbell and Regina Belle honoring the undisputed Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin. Family members of the late-legend Brenda Corbett, Jordan Franklin and Kecalf Franklin were presented with the inaugural Aretha Franklin ICON Award to give posthumous recognition of her profound impact on the Gospel music genre and unforgettable contributions.

The nights biggest winner of the annual show was performer Jonathan McReynolds, who swept the awards taking home eight Stellar Awards including AT&T Artist of the YearState Farm Song of the YearMale Vocalist of the YearCD of the YearProducer of the YearContemporary Male Vocalist of the YearContemporary CD of the Year and Urban/Inspirational Performance of the YearJekalyn Carr received three awards for Albertina Walker Female Vocalist of the Year, Traditional Female Vocalist of the Year and Traditional CD of the Year. The Walls Group were awarded twice as Duo/Chorus Group of the Year and Contemporary Duo/Chorus Group of the Year.

View this post on Instagram

The Walls Group, Stellar Award winners. 🔥

A post shared by The Walls Group (@thewallsgroup) on

A special award presentation was also given to honor gospel legend Delores Washington Green of The Caravans with the Dr. Bobby Jones Legend Award. Gospel star Yolanda Adams and Stellar Awards Founder, Chairman & CEO Don Jackson inducted James Robinson Jr. (Malaco Gospel), Jackie Patillo (Gospel Music Association) and Phil Thornton (RCA Inspiration) into the Stellar Honors Hall of Fame.

View this post on Instagram

Prizefight. @todddulaney1

A post shared by Jonathan McReynolds (@jonmcreynolds) on

This year’s line-up of performances included an energetic opening number by Hezekiah WalkerKirk Franklin stirring the audience to their feet performing new music and a rousing medley by Phil Thompson, Kelontae Gavin and Maranda Curtis. Other performers included Brian Courtney WilsonKoryn HawthorneTodd DulaneyCharles Jenkins, Jekalyn Carr and emerging new artists Jabari JohnsonWill McMillian and more.

Among some of the big winners for the weekend were Jonathan McReynolds taking home eight trophies. Jekalyn Carr was named female vocalist of the year and The Walls Group won the award for duo/chorus group of the year. The best new artist trophy went to Jabari Johnson.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Back to Top ↑
  • Listen Live!